Zinc lets you edit and delete messages after you have sent them. This can be useful to fix a typo or to remove a message you sent by accident.
Also, admin users have the ability to delete messages sent by other users in their organization. This can be useful in situations where a user sent an inappropriate message or shared sensitive information.
Message editing and deleting is configurable for each Zinc organization. By default all users can edit or delete any message they have sent for up to 24 hours after they sent it, and admin users can delete messages sent by other users in their admin scope at any time. But both of those defaults are configurable for each Zinc organization. See details below.
How to Edit a Message
On mobile (either iOS or Android), long press on a message to bring up the message context menu. Tap Edit to bring up the message editing interface.
Once you have finished editing the message tap Save to save the new version.
On desktop, right click on a message to bring up the context menu, click Edit, make your changes and click Save.
How to Delete a Message
Either long press (on mobile) or right click (on desktop) to bring up the message context menu. Then click Delete, and click Delete again on the confirmation dialog. The message will be replaced by a status message indicating that a message was deleted, but not showing who sent the original or who deleted it.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are other conversation participants notified when I edit or delete a message?
No. Nobody is notified when a message is edited or deleted.
Can other conversation participants see that I edited or deleted a message?
Yes. Single tapping, or clicking, on a message will show when a message was last edited, in addition to showing who has read the message. When a message is deleted it is replaced by a status message saying that a message was deleted. The message-deleted status message does not say who sent the original message or who deleted it.
How can message editing be configured?
Message editing can be disabled or the time limit on editing can be changed. If editing is disabled then users will not be able to edit or delete any messages they have sent. The time window, which is 24 hours by default, can be changed to any period of time - anything from a very small window to only allow users to fix typos immediately after sending a message or an infinite window to let users edit any message they have ever sent at any time. If you would like to change the message editing settings for your organization then get in touch with ServiceMax Zinc support.
When are admin users allowed to delete other peoples' messages?
Users with an Organization Admin or Team Admin role can be allowed to delete messages sent by other users in their organization and within their admin scope. Organization admins are allowed to delete any message sent by any user in their organization and in a conversation belonging to their organization. Team Admins can delete any message sent by a user in their organization and in a conversation that they are Team Admin for.
How can admin message deleting be configured?
For each Zinc organization, admin deleting can either disabled or enabled. By default it is enabled for new organizations. If you would like to disable it for your organization then get in touch with ServiceMax Zinc support.
Can message editing and deleting be configured separate for regular users and admins?
Yes. It is possible, for example, to disable user editing and deleting while still allowing admins to delete messages, or visa versa.